Stockle - the stock oracle

WEATHERFORD INTERNATIONAL LTD

US:WFRDUS:WFTUS:WFTUFUS:WFRD_oldUS:WFTIFUS:WFTLF
US$76.42Close 7 Oct 2026 · delayed

Past year: ▲ 4%(73.69 – 110.35 USD)

Market cap
—
Shares on issue
0
Story beats
12 since 2005
Last event
9 Mar 2009

History

Weatherford bought Precision Drilling's services divisions in 2005, funded growth with successive bond issues, and moved its incorporation from Bermuda to Switzerland in 2009.

2005-2006: Buying Precision Drilling's divisions

In August 2005 Weatherford arranged a $1.2 billion, 364-day credit facility with UBS, Bank of America and Morgan Stanley. The money was to redeem its Zero Coupon Convertible Senior Debentures due 2020, pay for a planned acquisition, and cover possible refinancings. Debenture holders converted $367.4 million of face value into about 3.67 million common shares, and the remaining $531.6 million face was repaid for $341.8 million, using a $240 million draw on the facility and $101.8 million of cash.

On September 7, 2005 Weatherford completed the purchase of Precision Drilling's Energy Services and International Contract Drilling divisions. It paid 26,000,000 common shares plus Can$1.13 billion (about US$945 million), borrowing $921 million on the facility for the cash part. It also signed a registration rights, standstill and voting agreement with Precision and hired John R. King and Ian E. Kelly to run two new divisions.

In August 2006 long-term debt began replacing the short-term borrowing. Weatherford sold $600 million of 6.50% senior notes due 2036, raising net proceeds of $588.3 million, and ended its undrawn $600 million 364-day facility without penalty. It also said it would cut its commercial paper program to $700 million.

2007-2008: More debt and a sanctions exit

In June 2007 a U.S. subsidiary sold $1.5 billion of senior notes in a private placement: $600 million at 5.95% due 2012, $600 million at 6.35% due 2017 and $300 million at 6.80% due 2037. Net proceeds were about $1.49 billion. The filing did not say how the money would be used. The company was obliged to register exchange notes, and the interest rate could rise by 0.25% if it failed to do so.

In September 2007 Weatherford said it would stop doing business through foreign subsidiaries in Cuba, Iran, Sudan and Syria, countries under U.S. sanctions, with no new contracts and an orderly wind-down of existing work. No revenue figures were given.

In March 2008 it raised another $1.5 billion in notes: $500 million each at 5.15% due 2013, 6.00% due 2018 and 7.00% due 2038, with net proceeds of about $1.47 billion. It also signed a new $250 million four-year revolving credit facility. Again, the use of the proceeds was not stated. That month the board approved 2008 pay rises and discretionary cash awards, including $3,000,000 to the CEO, although no 2007 bonuses were earned because internal financial targets were missed. Director Sheldon Lubar, on the board since 1995, chose not to stand again.

2008-2009: Moving to Switzerland

On December 10, 2008 Weatherford announced a plan to move its incorporation from Bermuda to Switzerland, with shareholders swapping shares one-for-one. In January 2009 it sold $1.25 billion of notes, $1.0 billion at 9.625% due 2019 and $250 million at 9.875% due 2039, with net proceeds of about $1,233.0 million to repay credit facility borrowings. These coupons were well above the 5-7% on the 2007 and March 2008 notes.

The move was completed on February 26, 2009. Bermuda became a subsidiary, and the Swiss shares began trading on the NYSE as WFT. The Swiss parent guaranteed the listed senior notes and took over the 12.9 million warrants with a $15.00 exercise price, the stock plans and the executive employment agreements. On March 9, 2009 the Bermuda entity ended the registration of its securities.

2009-2018: A quiet record

The major disclosures reviewed here say little about this period. By 2017 the ultimate parent was Weatherford International plc, an Irish company, though the change from Swiss to Irish ownership is not documented in the filings seen. In 2017 the Bermuda subsidiary offered to exchange up to $790 million of 9.875% notes due 2024 ($540 million issued in November 2016 and $250 million in June 2017); the outcome was not seen. On December 14, 2018 a Delaware subsidiary filed to exchange up to $600 million of 9.875% senior notes due 2025, issued February 28, 2018, for registered notes. The offer's expiry date was left blank in the draft.

Written from the 12 story beats below (2005 to 9 Mar 2009), which come from the company's own announcements and filings.

Beat by beat

The events that changed the company's story, in plain English, each written against everything known about the company at the time. The dot shows whether it was good, bad or neutral for shareholders.

2009

  1. 9 Mar

    WEATHERFORD INTERNATIONAL LTD terminated the registration of a class of securities, ending its reporting obligation for them.

    listing compliance notice

  2. 26 Feb

    WEATHERFORD INTERNATIONAL LTD's exchange filed to remove a class of its securities from listing.

    listing compliance notice

  3. 26 Feb

    On February 26, 2009 the move to Switzerland was completed: each Bermuda share was exchanged one-for-one for a Swiss Weatherford share, Bermuda became a subsidiary, and the Swiss shares began trading on the NYSE as WFT that day. The Swiss parent now guarantees the company's listed senior notes, and it assumed the 12.9 million warrants ($15.00 exercise price) and the stock plans and executive employment agreements. The Bermuda entity expects to file to end its own reporting.

    material agreement

  4. 8 Jan

    Weatherford sold $1.25 billion of new senior notes on January 5, 2009: $1.0 billion of 9.625% due 2019 and $250 million of 9.875% due 2039, for net proceeds of about $1,233.0 million. The filing says the proceeds will repay amounts outstanding under its credit facilities, and that the planned Swiss parent will also guarantee the notes after the share exchange. Their coupons are well above the 5-7% on the notes sold in 2007 and March 2008.

    debt financing

2008

  1. 11 Dec

    On December 10, 2008 Weatherford announced a plan to move its incorporation from Bermuda to Switzerland: shareholders would swap their shares one-for-one for shares of a new Swiss company, Weatherford International Ltd. (Switzerland), via a Bermuda court-approved scheme of arrangement. It still needs shareholder approval and Bermuda Supreme Court sanction, and the board can abandon it before it takes effect.

    material agreement

  2. 25 Mar

    Weatherford sold $1.5 billion of new senior notes on March 19, 2008 ($500M each of 5.15% due 2013, 6.00% due 2018 and 7.00% due 2038), settling March 25, with net proceeds of about $1.47 billion; this follows the prospectus filings of March 18-20. It also signed a new $250 million four-year revolving credit facility (Deutsche Bank agent, LIBOR plus 0.27%) on terms similar to its existing $1.5 billion facility. The filing does not state what the proceeds will be used for.

    debt financing

  3. 6 Mar

    Weatherford approved 2008 base salary increases for seven managers (e.g. CEO Duroc-Danner +$90,625, CFO Becnel +$75,000) and discretionary cash awards, including $3,000,000 to the CEO, even though no 2007 bonuses were earned under the incentive plan because internal financial targets were missed. This contrasts with the 2006 bonuses, which were paid in restricted shares. The board also nominated seven directors for the June 2, 2008 annual meeting; Sheldon Lubar, a director since 1995, will not stand again for personal reasons, reducing the board to seven.

    material agreement

2007

  1. 10 Sept

    Weatherford said it will stop doing business through foreign subsidiaries in countries under U.S. sanctions (Cuba, Iran, Sudan and Syria), with no new contracts and an orderly wind-down of existing business there. The filing gives no figures on how much revenue is affected. Separately, Chief Accounting Officer Jessica Abarca received a $50,000 raise.

    material agreement

  2. 18 June

    Weatherford's U.S. subsidiary sold $1.5 billion of new senior notes to investment banks in a private placement: $600 million of 5.95% notes due 2012, $600 million of 6.35% notes due 2017 and $300 million of 6.80% notes due 2037, all guaranteed by the Bermuda parent. Net proceeds were $1,486,365,000, received June 18, 2007; the filing does not state what the money will be used for. The company must register exchange notes, and the interest rates could rise by 0.25% if it fails to do so. This adds a new layer of long-term debt on top of the 2016 and 2036 notes issued in 2006.

    debt financing

2006

  1. 7 Aug

    Weatherford sold $600 million of 6.50% Senior Notes due 2036, receiving net proceeds of $588.3 million. It then terminated its undrawn $600 million 364-day credit facility (effective August 10, 2006, no penalty) and said it will cut its commercial paper program to $700 million. This continues the 2005 financing built around the Precision Drilling deal, with long-term notes replacing the short-term facility.

    debt financing

2005

  1. 7 Sept

    Weatherford completed its previously announced purchase of Precision Drilling's Energy Services and International Contract Drilling divisions for 26,000,000 common shares plus Can$1.13 billion (about US$945 million). It borrowed $921 million on its 364-day credit facility for the cash portion (about 4.0% expected interest), signed a registration rights, standstill and voting agreement with Precision, and hired John R. King and Ian E. Kelly to run two new divisions. Financial statements for the acquired business are due by November 17, 2005.

    asset acquisition disposition

  2. 29 Aug

    Weatherford signed a $1.2 billion, 364-day credit facility with UBS, Bank of America and Morgan Stanley (maturing August 23, 2006) to fund the redemption of its Zero Coupon Convertible Senior Debentures due 2020, the planned purchase of Precision Drilling's Energy Services and International Contract Drilling divisions, and possible refinancings. It then redeemed the remaining debentures: $367.4 million face value was converted into about 3.67 million common shares, and the rest ($531.6 million face) was repaid for $341.8 million, funded by a $240 million draw on the new facility (about 4.0% expected interest) and $101.8 million of cash.

    debt financing