Stockle - the stock oracle

Noble Finance Co

US:NBLWF
No current share price held for this company.

Past year: ▼ 99%(0.15c – 20.0c USD)

Market cap
—
Shares on issue
—
Story beats
19 since 2005
Last event
9 Mar 2023

History

Noble bought and quickly sold a Smedvig stake, moved its parent to Switzerland, then borrowed heavily in 2010-2011 to buy Frontier and refinance, before delisting a class of securities in 2013.

2005-2007: The Smedvig stake and bank borrowing

In December 2005 Noble agreed to buy about 39.24% of Smedvig ASA's Class A shares (28.87% of its total shares) from the Smedvig family for about US$695 million. The deal closed on December 23, 2005 at about US$691 million. Noble paid for it with a US$600 million loan from Goldman Sachs Credit Partners, due in February 2006, plus a draw on its existing bank facility. It said it was reviewing options for an offer for the rest of the company.

That idea was dropped. On March 31, 2006 Noble accepted SeaDrill's mandatory offer for its shares, at NOK 205 per Class A share and NOK 165 per Class B share. Noble also had to pay the former Smedvig owners the excess over its own purchase price. The filing gave no total proceeds or gain, and the record does not say what became of the Goldman loan.

On May 26, 2006 Noble issued $300 million of 5.875% senior notes due 2013, using about $297.5 million of net proceeds to repay $135 million of its bank revolver and for general purposes. In March 2007 it signed a new $600 million five-year revolving credit agreement with Citibank as agent, replacing the older bank facility. In July 2007 it borrowed $685 million short-term from Goldman Sachs to repay an intercompany loan from a subsidiary being liquidated, and the board approved a two-for-one stock split plus a quarterly dividend of $0.04 per share.

2008-2009: Moving to Switzerland

In November 2008 Noble sold $250 million of 7.375% senior notes due 2014, raising about $247.2 million to repay $150 million of a subsidiary's debt due in March 2009 and the rest of its bank revolver balance.

In December 2008 it agreed a reorganisation to move the parent company's incorporation from the Cayman Islands to Switzerland. Shareholders would receive one Swiss share for each Cayman share, and 15 million extra shares would be issued for employee plans and general purposes. The Cayman court approved the plan on March 26, 2009, and the Swiss shares began trading on the NYSE as NE on March 27. The Cayman company became a wholly owned subsidiary. In April 2009 a filing sought to remove a class of Noble Finance Co securities from listing.

2010-2011: Buying Frontier

The biggest move came on June 27, 2010, when Noble agreed to buy FDR Holdings Limited (Frontier) for cash, at a total value of $2.16 billion. Alongside it, Shell signed 10-year contracts for the drillship Noble Globetrotter and a second drillship, plus a three-year extension on the Noble Jim Thompson, all conditional on the deal closing.

Noble disclosed a contract backlog of $6.72 billion at June 30, 2010, but also a problem. Its US Gulf of Mexico rigs, about 25% of first-quarter 2010 revenue, were hit by the drilling moratorium after the Deepwater Horizon accident. Anadarko claimed force majeure on the Noble Amos Runner and was in litigation with Noble, putting $110 million of backlog at risk. The Noble Clyde Boudreaux moved to a $145,000 daily standby rate and lost $304 million of backlog, and the Noble Paul Romano was idle.

Noble funded the purchase with $1.2 billion of new senior notes, sold in July 2010, plus about $465 million of cash. The deal closed on July 28, 2010. The accounting price was about $2.6 billion, including $1.7 billion in cash and about $622 million of assumed non-recourse debt. Noble gained Frontier's fleet and half of the Bully I and II Arctic-class drillships, owned with Shell. No shares were issued.

In January 2011 Noble sold a further $1.1 billion of notes, intended to repay about $240 million of its revolver and about $347 million of its share of the Bully debt, with the rest for general purposes.

2013-2023: Quiet years and delisting

The record is quiet for the next few years. On December 20, 2013 a filing again sought to remove a class of Noble Finance Co securities from listing; the reason was not stated. Share counts reported later were 241,977,000 at the end of 2015, 243,239,000 in 2016 and 261,245,693 in 2017, though the record does not explain the changes. On March 9, 2023 Noble Finance Co suspended its duty to file periodic reports with the SEC, which is where the record ends.

Written from the 19 story beats below (2005 to 9 Mar 2023), which come from the company's own announcements and filings.

Beat by beat

The events that changed the company's story, in plain English, each written against everything known about the company at the time. The dot shows whether it was good, bad or neutral for shareholders.

shares on issue market cap (log scale)

2023261m shares · US$394m market cap

  1. 9 Mar

    Noble Finance Co suspended its duty to file periodic reports with the SEC.

    listing compliance notice

    261m shUS$394m

2013

  1. 20 Dec

    Noble Finance Co's exchange filed to remove a class of its securities from listing.

    listing compliance notice

2011

  1. 3 Feb

    On January 31, 2011 Noble Holding International Limited agreed with underwriters to sell $300 million of 3.05% notes due 2016, $400 million of 4.625% due 2021 and $400 million of 6.05% due 2041, guaranteed by the Cayman company. Expected net proceeds of about $1.087 billion are to repay about $240 million of the revolving credit facility, about $347 million for Noble's half of the Bully I and II joint venture debt (subject to approvals including the partner's), and the rest for general purposes including 2011 capital spending. This refinances debt taken on with the Frontier deal.

    material agreement

2010

  1. 2 Aug

    On July 28, 2010 Noble completed its cash purchase of FDR Holdings Limited (Frontier), the deal agreed June 27, 2010. The estimated accounting purchase price was about $2.6 billion, including $1.7 billion in cash and about $622 million of assumed non-recourse secured debt of consolidated joint ventures, against the $2.16 billion enterprise value used to set the price. Noble gets Frontier's fleet (a semisubmersible, drillships, and an FPSO unit) and a 50% interest in the Bully I and Bully II Arctic-class drillships under construction, jointly owned with Shell. The Bully credit facilities stay in place without a Noble guarantee, with $350 million (Bully I) and $271.9 million (Bully II) drawn at May 31, 2010. This resolves the Frontier closing thread; the Shell contracts that were conditional on closing now appear to be unlocked (inference, as this excerpt does not restate them).

    asset acquisition disposition

  2. 26 July

    On July 26, 2010 Noble Holding International Limited completed the sale of the three note series first announced on July 21: $350 million of 3.45% notes due 2015, $500 million of 4.90% due 2020 and $400 million of 6.20% due 2040, guaranteed by the Cayman company. Net proceeds were about $1,238 million, which together with about $465 million of cash on hand are to pay the cash portion of the pending Frontier purchase. If the Frontier deal is not completed or its merger agreement is terminated by 5:00 p.m. New York time on September 30, 2010, the notes must be redeemed at 101% of principal plus accrued interest. This completes the financing step announced July 21; the filing does not mention the $800 million bridge facility.

    material agreement

  3. 23 July

    On July 21, 2010 Noble Holding International Limited agreed to sell three series of senior notes, guaranteed by the Cayman company: $350 million of 3.45% due 2015, $500 million of 4.90% due 2020 and $400 million of 6.20% due 2040. Net proceeds of about $1.24 billion plus about $465 million of cash on hand will pay the cash portion of the Frontier purchase price. This funds the June 2010 acquisition and adds debt; the filing does not say what happens to the $800 million bridge facility.

    material agreement

  4. 21 July

    Filed in connection with financing the Frontier deal, this update gives contract backlog of $6.72 billion at June 30, 2010 ($5.86 billion floaters, $0.86 billion non-floaters). It discloses that Noble's U.S. Gulf of Mexico rigs, about 25% of first-quarter 2010 revenue, were hit by the post-Deepwater Horizon drilling moratorium: Anadarko claims force majeure on the Noble Amos Runner contract and is in litigation with Noble, with no revenue recognised and $110 million of backlog at risk; the Noble Clyde Boudreaux moved to a $145,000 daily standby rate through December 2010 and its earlier contract was cancelled, removing $304 million of backlog; and the Noble Paul Romano is idle. Frontier is still expected to close by the end of July 2010. This continues the Frontier thread and adds a Gulf of Mexico risk.

    business combination

  5. 28 June

    On June 27, 2010 Noble agreed to buy FDR Holdings Limited (Frontier) for cash, with total consideration of $2.16 billion, which includes Noble's share of estimated joint venture obligations for future construction costs and related non-recourse project financing. Closing is expected around July 30, 2010. An $800 million bridge facility is arranged, to be used with cash on hand and revolver borrowings. Noble also signed Shell contracts, conditional on the Frontier closing: 10-year contracts on the drillship Noble Globetrotter (due second half of 2011) and a second drillship (expected second half of 2013), and a three-year extension on the Noble Jim Thompson. Shell can also suspend contracts on Noble Gulf of Mexico rigs during the drilling restrictions, paying a reduced rate, with contract terms extended by the suspension period. This is a new growth thread.

    business combination

2009

  1. 13 Apr

    Noble Finance Co's exchange filed to remove a class of its securities from listing.

    listing compliance notice

  2. 27 Mar

    On March 26, 2009 the Cayman court approved the reorganisation and it was completed: each Cayman ordinary share was cancelled and exchanged one-for-one for a share of the new Swiss Noble Corporation, and the Cayman company became a wholly owned subsidiary of the Swiss parent. The Swiss shares began trading on the NYSE under the same symbol, NE, on March 27, 2009. This completes the Swiss re-domiciliation planned since December 2008.

    listing compliance notice

2008

  1. 22 Dec

    On December 19, 2008 Noble Corporation (Cayman Islands) agreed a merger and reorganisation under Cayman court schemes of arrangement that would move the parent company's incorporation to Switzerland. Existing shareholders get one share of the new Swiss Noble Corporation for each Cayman ordinary share, and Noble-Cayman becomes a wholly-owned subsidiary. The deal needs shareholder approval and Cayman Grand Court sanction, and the board can abandon it; Swiss law will govern shareholder rights, and 15 million extra shares are to be issued for employee plans and general purposes. Whether the Sugar Land headquarters will move is undecided.

    business combination

  2. 21 Nov

    On November 18, 2008 Noble and its subsidiary Noble Holding International Limited agreed to sell $250 million of 7.375% Senior Notes due March 15, 2014, guaranteed by Noble Corporation, for net proceeds of about $247.2 million. Noble plans to use the money to repay $150 million of a subsidiary's debt maturing March 2009 and the balance of its unsecured revolving bank credit facility, with the rest for general corporate purposes.

    debt financing

2007

  1. 27 July

    On July 27, 2007 Noble's board approved a two-for-one stock split, paid as a stock dividend on August 28, 2007 to holders of record on August 7, 2007. It also declared a quarterly cash dividend of $0.04 per ordinary share, payable September 21, 2007 to holders of record on September 7, 2007. Shareholders will hold twice as many shares after the split; the filing does not state the per-share basis of the dividend relative to the split.

    dividend declaration

  2. 26 July

    On July 24, 2007 Noble borrowed $685 million under a short-term loan from Goldman Sachs Credit Partners, due September 27, 2007, at 5.64%. The money repaid an intercompany loan from a wholly-owned subsidiary that is being liquidated and dissolved from July 25, 2007; Noble says it expects liquidation proceeds to repay the loan by maturity. The filing does not say why the subsidiary is being dissolved.

    debt financing

  3. 20 Mar

    On March 15, 2007 Noble signed a new $600 million five-year revolving credit agreement with Citibank as agent, due March 15, 2012 and expandable to $800 million. It replaces the 2002 Amended and Restated Credit Agreement (the Nordea-led bank facility), which was repaid with an $85 million first draw at 5.565%. This replaces the earlier bank facility and its Nov 2009 maturity.

    debt financing

2006

  1. 26 May

    Noble Corporation issued $300 million of 5.875% Senior Notes due June 1, 2013 on May 26, 2006, guaranteed by Noble Drilling Corporation; this completes the offering marketed in the May 23 free-writing prospectus. Net proceeds of about $297.5 million were used to repay $135 million under its unsecured revolving bank credit facility, with the balance for general corporate purposes. The filing does not mention the US$600 million Goldman Sachs loan from the Smedvig purchase.

    material agreement

  2. 3 Apr

    On March 31, 2006 Noble submitted acceptances to sell its Smedvig shares to SeaDrill under SeaDrill's mandatory offer (NOK 205 per Class A share, NOK 165 per Class B share), with payment due by April 7, 2006. This reverses the earlier possibility of Noble making its own offer for Smedvig. Noble must pay the former Smedvig owners the excess over its purchase price (NOK 200 and NOK 150) within seven days of settlement. The filing gives no total sale proceeds or resulting gain.

    asset acquisition disposition

2005

  1. 28 Dec

    The Smedvig share purchase closed on December 23, 2005 (about US$691 million, 39.24% of Class A and 28.87% of total shares). Noble borrowed US$600 million from Goldman Sachs Credit Partners under a new credit agreement (due February 20, 2006) plus a draw on its existing bank facility. Noble said it is reviewing alternatives for making an offer for the rest of Smedvig, with no terms or timetable set.

    asset acquisition disposition

  2. 15 Dec

    On December 12, 2005 Noble agreed to buy 21,095,600 Class A and 2,501,374 Class B shares of Smedvig ASA from the Smedvig family and related entities for NOK 4,594,326,100 (about US$695 million). That would give it about 39.24% of Smedvig's Class A shares and 28.87% of its total shares. Closing was set for December 23, 2005, to be paid from cash, the existing bank credit agreement and/or new debt.

    material agreement