History
GeoPetro, a Texas gas producer, sold its idle plant equipment to clear its bank loan, lost its exchange listing, and saw its 2013 merger with MCW Energy end in 2014.
2007-2009: Listing, a plant purchase and new debt
GeoPetro's securities were cleared to trade on the American Stock Exchange in February 2007. In August it sold 2,002,599 shares and warrants in a private placement for $7,710,006, taking shares outstanding to 31,549,674. The money was meant for exploration, development and working capital.
For 2007 the company reported revenue of $6,890,777 and a net loss to common shareholders of $1,616,804, mainly from a $1.1 million write-down of its Canadian properties. It also took a 15% non-operated interest in about 2,000 gross acres in Lavaca County, Texas.
The biggest move came at the end of 2008, when GeoPetro bought the Madisonville gas treatment plant and pipelines that had been processing its Madisonville gas. It paid by taking on about $7.7 million of bank debt, about $1.1 million of payables and 1.5 million new shares, and it raised a further $1,050,000 through 8% subordinated notes with warrants. The 2008 loss shrank to $174,825, though gas revenue fell to $6,152,542 because of Hurricane Ike, plant shutdowns and high inlet pressure.
In 2009 the company turned to a new class of senior stock. Series B convertible preferred shares, sold at $0.75, raised $1,850,000 in April and a further $3,792,250 between August and October. These pay a $0.06 annual dividend and convert one-for-one into common shares.
2010-2011: Small raisings and the plant sale
In September 2010 GeoPetro sold 3,575,000 units at $0.48 for $1,716,000, each with a share and a warrant. Share counts rose from 39,090,845 at the end of 2010 to 44,253,101 a year later, reflecting placements around that time.
In April 2011 its subsidiary Madisonville Midstream agreed to sell idle plant equipment to Peregrine Midstream Partners for $8,750,000. In May the price was raised to $9,300,000 and the regulatory-approval condition was dropped. The sale closed on September 13, 2011 at $9,250,000. The same day GeoPetro repaid its Bank of Oklahoma loan, clearing the debt from the plant purchase. It expected to restore about 8 million cubic feet a day from the Magness and Fannin wells in October 2011; the outcome was not reported.
2012-2013: Listing trouble and the MCW merger
In June 2012 NYSE MKT warned that GeoPetro's losses were so large that it was questionable whether it could continue operations or meet its obligations. In November the exchange added a second demand: a reverse stock split (combining shares into fewer, higher-priced ones) by May 21, 2013. The outcome of that demand was not reported.
On February 28, 2013 GeoPetro agreed to merge into a subsidiary of Ontario-based MCW Energy Group. The deal required GeoPetro to raise $1,900,000 in units at no less than $0.10. In February 2013 it had sold 3,650,000 units at $0.10. An April amendment extended the fundraising deadline to May 31, 2013 and allowed up to 20,000,000 units to settle certain notes and deferred pay in equity.
The exchange meanwhile found too little progress on the financial-condition plan. GeoPetro appealed, but on August 12, 2013 the panel denied it. NYSE MKT trading was suspended after August 20, and the shares moved to the OTCQB, an over-the-counter market, on August 21. The exchange filed in September to remove the shares from listing. Shares on issue reached 56,191,074 at the end of 2013 and 89,353,074 at the end of 2014; the record does not explain these rises.
2014-2021: The merger ends
On May 14, 2014 GeoPetro, MCW and MCW's merger subsidiary signed a termination of the merger agreement. They "jointly determined not to consummate the merger" and gave no reason; no payment was mentioned. Existing shareholders therefore kept their shares. The company reported a first-quarter 2014 loss of $544,000.
The record then goes quiet until September 2021, when GeoPetro terminated the registration of a class of its securities, ending its reporting obligation for them. As of the May 2014 filing it was an independent company on the OTCQB, with no new funding or transaction reported.
Written from the 20 story beats below (2007 to 3 Sept 2021), which come from the company's own announcements and filings.