History
A shell that tried medical ventures and oil and gas became a cannabis company, then sold its facilities to repay debt and turned to licensing a Parkinson's treatment.
2006-2010: From medical centers to small oil and gas bets
The company began as Diabetic Treatment Centers of America. In May 2006 it signed a joint venture to manage and develop Fit-Well, a Utah prosthetics and orthotics business, taking 75% and contributing 5,000,000 of its own shares. It also agreed to give Scott Allen 5,000,000 restricted shares for business development help. By February 2008 the venture was over: the company said it could not generate income or raise capital from it, and it said it would look for energy-related opportunities.
The oil and gas move began in August 2009 with an option on up to a 50% working interest in 2,087 acres in Kansas, then a 5% interest in a Texas prospect bought partly with two $18,000 convertible notes. In November 2009 the company said investors should no longer rely on its fiscal 2009 and first-quarter fiscal 2010 financial statements, because a change to shareholder loans required a $202,500 loss to be recorded.
Funding came through convertible notes. December 2009 and February 2010 each brought $300,000 in cash from notes with a face value of $352,942, converting at $0.35 and $0.65 per share, with warrants attached. In August 2010 a further small note converting at $0.10 triggered anti-dilution clauses, cutting the earlier conversion prices to $0.10 and raising the shares issuable on the earlier warrants. The record is then quiet until 2014. The year-end share counts for 2011 to 2013 fall sharply, but the beats do not explain why.
2014-2015: A change of control and a cannabis pivot
In March 2014 the company agreed to buy cannabis-production assets from Craig Ellins for 12,500,000 restricted shares, with 4,500,000 issued immediately and the rest tied to milestones. That gave Ellins about 84% of the voting capital, and he became CEO and Chairman. The company became GrowBlox Sciences. He received four million more shares in May 2014 after the company raised at least $1,000,000.
In June 2014 the company sold 10,000,000 units at $0.50 each to 57 people, each unit holding one share plus A and B warrants, and issued 1,500,000 shares to cancel $390,000 of debt. Shares outstanding reached 23,331,932 and the company moved to Las Vegas. In 2015 it cut the B warrant price to $0.20 to encourage exercise; 1,970,000 were exercised for $394,000. Cesar Cordero-Kruger bought 2,820,000 shares for $592,200.
In May 2015 the company gave a Puerto Rico entity, GBSPR, exclusive worldwide rights to its chamber technology, conditional on that entity raising at least $1,250,000. The outcome is not stated. In June 2015 it agreed a loan of up to $1,750,000 from Pacific Leaf Ventures to fund a cultivation facility at 3550 West Teco Avenue in Las Vegas, with a license to Pacific Leaf's technology in return for royalties.
2016-2018: Building on borrowed money
In February 2016 the Pacific Leaf note was restated at $2,750,000, with the conversion price cut from $0.50 to $0.25 and royalties restated. In September 2016 the company sold 7,097,000 units at $0.20, raising $1,419,400. In January 2017 it cut the exercise price on certain warrants to $0.20, and 7,086,000 shares were issued to four holders. Shares outstanding rose from 92,836,869 at the end of 2016 to 131,254,104 at the end of 2017.
In February 2018 the company ended all agreements with Pacific Leaf, paying $1,269,818.05 and owing a further $1,500,000 plus 1,600,000 restricted shares by July 31, 2018. The payment status is not stated. In September 2018 it issued 16,482,000 shares for $4,120,500, with no purpose given.
2019-2024: Selling the facilities and turning to drug licensing
In late 2019 the company agreed to sell most of the Teco operations to AJE Management, a deal that became a sale of 100% for up to $8,000,000 in March 2020. Nevada's moratorium on license transfers left the timing unknown. It also agreed to sell its 50.01% interest in GB Sciences Louisiana to Wellcana Plus.
The company missed repayment of its $2,765,000 note in April 2020, and the amount owed grew to $3,384,820. Iliad Research and Trading won a $3,264,594.38 judgment. A settlement followed, and when Wellcana completed the $4,900,000 purchase on December 16, 2020, $3,006,015 went straight to Iliad, resolving the default. The Teco sale was reported complete on December 31, 2021, though the filing names no buyer or price.
In August 2022 options were issued to seven officers and directors for 13% of fully diluted shares, vesting on a NASDAQ up-listing. As of October 15, 2024, the company, now led by Dr. Andrea Small-Howard and based at 205 W. Russell Road, Las Vegas, had licensed its cannabinoid Parkinson's treatment to EndoPure Life Sciences for Brazil and South America, for a 5% royalty on gross sales. Going-concern doubt appeared in earlier reports, and the NASDAQ listing had not happened.
Written from the 27 story beats below (2006 to 15 Oct 2024), which come from the company's own announcements and filings.