Each one in plain English, with the numbers worked through for a shareholder.
1 Mar 2011asset acquisition disposition▲ GoodMajor
Origin completed the $3.25bn purchase of the Integral Energy and Country Energy retail businesses and entered binding Eraring GenTrader arrangements, as scheduled for 1 March. It now has 4.6 million customer accounts. The pro-rata equity offering to partly refinance the debt is reconfirmed.
Contact Energy (Origin 51.92% of quoted shares) received a draft decision proposing resource consents for its Hauāuru mā raki wind project: 168 turbines, up to 504MW. It is a draft only, with Contact still to respond.
Australia Pacific LNG signed a non-binding Heads of Agreement for Sinopec to buy up to 4.3 million tonnes a year of LNG for 20 years and take 15% of the project. Origin's stake would fall from 50% to 42.5%; binding agreements are still to come.
Origin's half-year underlying profit fell 14% to $304m, with a statutory loss of $136m after $440m of non-underlying expenses including Geodynamics/Innamincka Deeps impairments. Interim dividend held at 25c; FY11 underlying EBITDA guided up ~35%, and the equity offering is reconfirmed.
Analyst presentation for the half-year result, repeating the headline figures already released: underlying EBITDA up 16% to $818m, statutory loss of $136m, underlying profit down 14%. The text provided is truncated, so no further new detail is confirmed.
Appendix 4D and full half-year accounts: revenue up 7% to $4,603m, statutory loss of $136m (15.4c a share loss), and a 25c fully franked interim dividend, record date 7 March, payable 1 April. Detail repeats the results media release.
Contact Energy (Origin 51.92% of quoted shares) reported a January average wholesale price of $39/MWh at Haywards. North Island storage ended January at 178% of mean, up from 139% in December.
Australia Pacific LNG, Origin's 50:50 joint venture with ConocoPhillips, received Federal environmental approval for its CSG-to-LNG project, subject to many conditions. This follows the Queensland approval of November 2010 and clears a key approval ahead of a final investment decision.
Contact Energy (Origin 51.92% of quoted shares) reported flat half-year earnings: EBITDAF $225m, underlying profit $79m. It committed to the 166MW Te Mihi geothermal project (~$623m), funded partly by a rights issue that Origin says it will take up. Interim distribution is equivalent to 11c per share.
Pancontinental, Origin's L8 partner, repeated Origin's farm-out of 50% of Kenya Block L8 to Apache. Its own 25% stays unchanged (10% direct, 15% via Afrex), and it expects Mbawa drilling within the next twelve months.
Origin agreed to sell 50% of Kenya Block L8 to Apache, which becomes operator. Origin will be reimbursed US$13.2m of past costs and Apache will meet part of the Mbawa well cost. Origin falls from 75% to 25%; completion expected by end June. This resolves the farm-in search.
Beach notes Santos has lifted its Cooper Basin 2P reserves by 39 MMboe, which Beach assumes is about 60 MMboe for the SACB JV. Origin holds 13.19% of that JV, but no Origin figure is given. Beach has not independently assessed this.
Geodynamics says Origin, as operator of the Innamincka Shallows JV (50:50), has accepted Rig 100 and will move it to Celsius 1 once weather and roads permit. Rain still delays the first well; two wells to about 2,200m are planned. Deeps work is not materially affected.
Beach's January drilling report covers Cooper Basin wells. Santos-operated Coonatie-15 and Tirrawarra-80 were cased and suspended as gas producers, and Cook-18 as a Hutton oil producer. Origin's share is not stated in the text, though it holds 13.19% of the SA Cooper Basin JV.
Contact Energy (Origin 51.92% of quoted shares) reports December average wholesale price of $102/MWh, up from $56 in November but below the earlier month-to-date $143. North Island storage was 139% of mean, rising to 165% by report date; January prices have been lower.
Contact Energy (Origin holds 51.92% of quoted shares) will release half-year results on 22 February 2011, with an interim distribution record date of 8 March. Administrative notice only, with no financial results.
Dao Ruang-2 appraisal well spudded 16 January in Thailand block L15/50, where Origin holds 40% under its Salamander farm-in (Salamander operates). It targets a 1993 gas discovery with 500 Bcf gross mean potential; about 45 days if dry.
11 Jan 2011director officer appointment● NeutralMajor
Contact Energy (Origin holds 51.92% of quoted shares) said MD David Baldwin will move over three months to become Origin's Chief Development Officer. Origin's Dennis Barnes, general manager of energy risk management, becomes Contact's CEO. Baldwin stays a Contact director.
Beach's December report on Cooper Basin wells. Santos-operated Tirrawarra-78 was cased and suspended as a future gas and oil producer, and Coonatie-15 has started drilling. Origin's share of these wells is not stated in the text.
Origin will contribute $1 million to the Queensland Premier's Disaster Relief Fund after the floods. It has also provided helicopter services and clean-up help in the Western Downs area. Charitable donation with no stated effect on operations.
Origin released its updated Dealing in Securities Policy (version 2.0) under ASX Listing Rule 12.9. It is a governance document on trading restrictions for directors and staff, with no financial or operational information.
Geodynamics says Cooper Basin flooding has delayed moving Rig 100 to spud the first Innamincka Shallows well (Origin operator, 50%), which was planned for 17 December. Rig timing should be clearer in mid-January. Geodynamics does not expect the 2012 pilot plant timeline to change.
Service Stream announced a two-year agreement with Origin to install an anticipated 48,000 residential solar systems, likely worth over $300m. Volumes are targets only and depend on continued government support for solar. This expands the relationship contracted in April 2010.
Contact Energy received the final decision granting all consents for Tauhara 2, a ~250MW geothermal development near Taupo, resolving the pending decision. It will proceed only when market conditions allow, so no construction commitment yet.
Contact Energy (Origin holds 51.92% of quoted shares) reported a November 2010 average wholesale price of $56/MWh at Haywards. December prices to 16 December averaged $143/MWh, and North Island storage fell to 115% of mean from 126%.
Silvereye 1 in T/44P (Origin 60% operator, AWE 40%) reached 2,318.2m with no significant hydrocarbon indications and will be plugged and abandoned. This is a dry hole, resolving the well awaited since its 3 December spud.
AWE (40% partner) reports Silvereye-1 reached 2,318m with no significant shows and will be plugged and abandoned. Confirms Origin's own announcement of the same day; no new information.
AWE's weekly update on the Al Meashar-2 appraisal well in Yemen Block 7, an Oil Search-operated project. Origin holds no stated interest in it, so it has no apparent bearing on Origin.
15 Dec 2010asset acquisition disposition▲ GoodMajor
Origin signed agreements with the NSW Government to buy the Integral Energy and Country Energy retail businesses and Eraring GenTrader rights for $3,250m, completing around 1 March 2011. Funded by new debt, partly refinanced by a pro-rata equity offering within 12 months. Customers rise from 3m to 4.6m.